Oh, yes, I studied architecture… Really…! Totes…!

EDIT: Dear reader, this one post is pretty much just a rant, an immature, one sided rant. Maybe I’ll add a post discussing both the pros and cons of early marriage and choosing opportunities, but this post started as a rant, and that’s what it is.
So I just added this disclaimer to this poorly thought-out piece.

 

…..
Seriously, am I the only one who sees someone married at 23 and thinks “oh wow, how can you get married if you don’t even know yourself?”

You can argue as much as you can, but I don’t think that anybody can say that people getting married at such an early age won’t regret anything. Seriously, you just graduated architecture, and last time I saw you (a few months ago), you were just discussing an idea a first-year student would consider basic knowledge as if it were a logic-breaking fact. It’s sad that you didn’t leave that spot of yours in university for someone else who was willing to build her/his future on by her/himself for her/himself, rather than for her/his parents.

Seriously, you just studied for 5 years just to make yourself more appealing for your dimwit of a “husband”. Oh and, by the way, people who actually wanted to be architects though I doubt it are actually studying something else because their parents and our “educational system” think they’re not fit to be architects.

You are pathetic, selfish, and weak (for not daring to speak your mind, just as your parents didn’t dare to say that they want you to be an architect for other people rather than yourself).

You give our dreaming and hard-working women a horrible name.

…..

I guess,

Saed

About saedt

An immature empath, a music hobbyist, an architect, and a dreamer.

5 responses to “Oh, yes, I studied architecture… Really…! Totes…!”

  1. Ru'a Al-Abweh says :

    To answer your question, no you are not the only one. But ouch, harsh. While I am also one to rant and fuss and get irritated when I hear about marriage at a young age, I don’t necessarily agree that they didn’t deserve their place at university. It’s true, many girls/women will get married and do nothing with their degrees, but not necessarily all. They could still have their dreams and aspirations on a professional level. I am not dismissing your argument that she may have only chosen architecture because of parental pressures or to add that approval stamp that says “good wife material.” It happens -a lot. But not always. Interesting side note -I have friends who are not Arab who have already gotten married (they are 23, 24, 25 if we stretch it). I think their motives are probably different than many in the Arab world but it has nevertheless made me stop and think -NOT about getting married at 23 myself but just the fact that marrying young is not just an Arab thing (notwithstanding the percentage of young people getting married in comparison to the Arab world. I don’t want to be unrealistic and act like it’s not an issue, but just a thought.)

    Like

    • saedt says :

      Yeah I agree the rant was pretty harsh, way too harsh actually, but I just had to let it out ^-^

      Well education as education is a positive as long as well… someone gets it. And well everyone has a lot of reasons to do anything they do, apart from the circumstances. But I can’t help but think of what a waste it is for some people to literally waste resources.

      I actually realized this was a pretty judgemental post when I woke up and thought about it haha.

      Like

    • saedt says :

      … I should add a “senseless” tag/category

      Like

  2. Charlotte Cuevas says :

    “Seriously, am I the only one who sees someone married at 23 and thinks “oh wow, how can you get married if you don’t even know yourself?””

    Totally, TOTALLY agree. And no, you weren’t too harsh, never apologize for the way you feel. If you feel strongly about it, bellow it from the mountains- that’s my philosophy, anyway.

    I don’t know much about the way things are done in the Arab world, but I personally think it’s dumb for ANYONE to be married that young and drop their aspirations in favor of domesticity.

    Like

    • saedt says :

      well this post started as people studying something without even the slightest aspirations. That’s what pissed me off in the first place.

      It seemed like a total waste of time, effort, and passion.

      Like

Leave a Reply

