Doggy Paddle

This was actually improvised, hope you enjoy it and feel its rhythm to an extent. Sure it has a meaning, but it’s meant to be subjective.

 

…..

People speak of self control,
People speak of worthless “hoes”;

Rum, cattle, anecdotes;
Ships, battles, “yohoho”s.

…..

People speak of burning cattle
People speak of worthless thoughts;

All those heads you couldn’t rattle,
All those minds that fought.

…..

People speak of running out,
People talk of dying dreams;

All the minds, too stubborn they were,
All those who do speak.

…..

People speak of nothing matters
People speak of drought;

All those days “given away”,
Were fortunately days of thought.

…..

People speak of other matters,
People stink of death;

All my mind was pitter patter,
Of living dreams in a mess.

…..

People row with broken paddles,
People swim in vain;

Yet my mind in broken chatter,
Screams of hope in pain.

…..

All the people pitter patter,
All the people sway;

All I do is doggy paddle,
And keep the sharks at bay.

…..

I guess,

Saed

About saedt

An immature empath, a music hobbyist, an architect, and a dreamer.

2 responses to “Doggy Paddle”

  1. Charlotte Cuevas says :

    I hardly ever, ever read the blogs I follow (I know, everyone wants to kill me for it) but I do like this poem for its rhythm. This part in particular:

    “People row with broken paddles,
    People swim in vain;

    Yet my mind in broken chatter,
    Screams of hope in pain.

    All the people pitter patter,
    All the people sway;

    All I do is doggy paddle,
    And keep the sharks at bay.”

    is wonderful. It lines up with a lot of the sentiment I’ve been trying to express lately. I might write that part on my quote wall 🙂

    Keep it up, looking forward to reading more, and perusing your archives!

    Like

    • saedt says :

      Yay! Well Anyway (whether you read your “followed” blogs or not), thank you for reading mine!

      Your poems are great, and one of mine were inspired by one of your rhythms that I felt.

      you and maybe one more other blog are the only ones I honestly read; sadly not many read the blogs they follow!

      Like

Leave a Reply

